There are many uninsured drivers in Florida. In fact, Florida has one of the highest rates of uninsured drivers in the country, roughly 1 in 4 drivers is uninsured.
In Florida, you are only required to carry PIP and Property Damage coverage. This means a driver can legally be on the road with just PIP and Property Damage and not have the coverage to protect others in case that driver is at fault. However, one of the biggest misconceptions is that having the bare minimum is good enough. Unfortunately, when someone is hurt in an accident, a single hospital visit can very often cost over $10,000, essentially exhausting your entire PIP coverage.
What does this mean?
If you are involved in an auto accident with a driver that does not have liability coverage, you may not have coverage beyond the first $10,000 in immediate medical expenses and some lost wages. You will not be protected for medical expenses beyond the first $10,000, any future medical expenses, significant lost wages, or non-economic damages such as disability, pain, and suffering.
Uninsured Motorist (UM) coverage is extremely important in Florida.
3 things you need to know about protecting yourself with this important coverage:
Do you already have uninsured motorist coverage?
If you do, that’s great, but be sure to re-evaluate your policy from time to time to ensure that you are adequately covered.
If you are hurt in an accident or having problems with your insurance claim, please contact our Tampa car accident lawyer at Boohoff Law, P.A and schedule a free consultation today.
2200 6th Avenue, Suite 768
Seattle, WA 98121